Skip to content

Christian Knight – Service

August 29, 2012

What does it mean to be a knight in the service of Christ? I introduced this concept of Christian knighthood some time ago by stating that the Christian life mirrors the knights of old in three ways: Service, Conduct, and Warfare. For review, here are the explanations of these:

Service: We have a duty to serve our Lord. As a Christian, my life is not my own, I have been bought with a price (1 Co. 6:20.) Christ is the King whom I serve.

Conduct: One cannot think of the knights of old without thinking of the code of chivalry. This code governed the life of the knight and their conduct with others. As a Christian I also have demands on my conscience that my King has required. We are free from the curse of the Law but we are under obligation to Christ for the salvation we have in Him. Our conduct does not earn our salvation but it does reflect the gratitude we have in the salvation He has provided and demonstrates that we are His. (James 2:26.)

Warfare: A knight’s primary duty was in the arena of war. He was no mere foot soldier but a specialized warrior and commander. He defended his king and lord with the sword and lance. As a Christian I am not involved in physical warfare for His Kingdom but I am a soldier in my King’s army for the ongoing spiritual war. I am called to arm myself (Ephesians 6:12-20,) defend the truth (1 Peter 3:15,) and protect those in need (Galatians 2:10.)

This first area of service is what we are addressing today. A knight is committed to serve his Lord. As a Christian my live is defined by service to Christ. That is one of the many things in the Bible that is easy to say but hard to do. What does it mean to be in the service of Christ? Fortunately this is not a question the Bible leaves us hanging on. He are many passages we could look to but I think this concept is best said in the Gospel of John:

15 “If you love me, you will keep my commandments. 16 And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Helper, to be with you forever, 17 even the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it neither sees him nor knows him. You know him, for he dwells with you and will be in you. 18 “I will not leave you as orphans; I will come to you. 19 Yet a little while and the world will see me no more, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live. 20 In that day you will know that I am in my Father, and you in me, and I in you. 21 Whoever has my commandments and keeps them, he it is who loves me. And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and manifest myself to him.” 22 Judas (not Iscariot) said to him, “Lord, how is it that you will manifest yourself to us, and not to the world?” 23 Jesus answered him, “If anyone loves me, he will keep my word, and my Father will love him, and we will come to him and make our home with him. 24 Whoever does not love me does not keep my words. And the word that you hear is not mine but the Father’s who sent me. 25 “These things I have spoken to you while I am still with you. 26 But the Helper, the Holy Spirit, whom the Father will send in my name, he will teach you all things and bring to your remembrance all that I have said to you. 27 Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid. 28 You heard me say to you, ‘I am going away, and I will come to you.’ If you loved me, you would have rejoiced, because I am going to the Father, for the Father is greater than I. 29 And now I have told you before it takes place, so that when it does take place you may believe. 30 I will no longer talk much with you, for the ruler of this world is coming. He has no claim on me, 31 but I do as the Father has commanded me, so that the world may know that I love the Father. Rise, let us go from here. (John 14:15-31 ESV)

It is the first requirement that is simplest, and hardest, obey. As Christians, we want to obey but with the constant battle against our remaining sin nature, obedience can be a hard thing. Sometimes we sin even when we don’t want to (see Romans 7) but that should not be seen as an excuse. Each of us is accountable for his or her actions. Still, obedience is our goal regardless of our imperfect walk. This is why verses 16-20 are so precious. We are not left alone. Christ has given us the Holy Spirit indwelling in us to be our helper. For left-brained people like me this is hard to understand but it is the only thing that explains how we can resist the temptations we do resist and how we can obey to the extent we do.

The commands of Christ are not a burden, nor are they hidden. We can find how He wants us to live and serve right in the pages of Scripture. This is why being a student of the Bible is so important for the Christian. To put it simple, a knight must know what his Lord expects of him. However, I do not want anyone to misunderstand. This is after we are in Christ. We do not obey to earn a spot in God’s grace. Such an idea would be abhorrent to the very concept of grace. We are saved by grace alone through faith alone. Period. our good works are done out of gratitude and by the enabling of the Holy Spirit.

In addition to obedience, we are also called to serve each other. Jesus gives a magnificent example in the previous chapter in John when He washed the disciple’s feet (John 13:1-17). I won’t take the time to provide the entire passage but the last couple verses sum up the point nicely:

15 For I have given you an example, that you also should do just as I have done to you. 16 Truly, truly, I say to you, a servant is not greater than his master, nor is a messenger greater than the one who sent him. 17 If you know these things, blessed are you if you do them. (John 13:15-17 ESV)

If the sovereign Lord of the universe can humble Himself in one of the most menial tasks of the time then what right do I have to claim any task is beneath me? None. We serve where there is a need and to the extent of our abilities. Maybe that means teaching a Bible study and maybe that means helping a widow by changing the oil in her car. The examples could go on and on but I think the point has been made.

A knight cannot ignore this aspect of his life. To do so is to offend his Lord and bring dishonor to His name. How can we do this when He has done so much for us. Yet I see so many people who name Christ and have no time in their busy lives for even the smallest service. We live like the world and care for the things of the world and ignore our responsibilities. Enough is enough. The church needs to wake up and stop treating Christianity like an addition to our lives and embrace it as the transformation of our lives. This can only happen if individual Christians behave like the idyllic knight and as the Bible teaches. Leaders can’t do it, church programs can’t do it, only we can.

God bless.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 9, 2012 8:09 pm

    Yes I do agree that our life is belong to the Lord, the creature of us. Be thankful and blessed for what he given to us in return we serve him.

    tfi – more info

    • Knight permalink*
      September 10, 2012 8:23 am

      I believe you mean “creator” not “creature.” an easy typo but makes all the difference. God is creator.

  2. Akpabio utin permalink
    April 7, 2017 5:58 pm

    I love your exposition on the Christian knight. You have just dealt with service. Can we have your say on Conduct and warfare. Thanks

Leave a Reply

