Skip to content

Close Church for Christmas?

December 25, 2011

First of all let me wish everyone a Merry Christmas. As I write this, our Christmas day is winding down so I had better make it a belated Merry Christmas. (Better late than never.)

I would like to respond to the actions taken by many churches today. This year, Christmas happened to land on Sunday and it seems that many church leaders made the executive decision to not have the normal Sunday worship service today. To be somewhat candid with my fellow churchmen let me say this:

Shame on you.

You had a rare opportunity and you intentionally let it slip through your fingers. I have heard all the reasons given for doing this and, frankly, not one of them balances against the massive opportunity you had to witness to the Gospel of our Lord Jesus Christ. I know that Christmas day is a busy one for many people. Ours was no different. But that is no excuse for allowing those people who would have come to your service, though they do not normally ever darken the door of a church, to slip by without confronting them with their sin and need for Christ. If I may borrow the metaphor, this was a gift-wrapped opportunity. Now I know I have let many an opportunity pass me by in my life. More than I care to admit. However, this is why you got in the ministry in the first place isn’t it?

Think also of the people in the church. You deny and impede their opportunity to corporately worship their Lord on the day we celebrate His incarnation. How does this make any sense? What kind of message does this send to the young people?

I realize that I am throwing a fair amount of guilt around but I think it is well-earned. You will get another chance in about five years. So if the Mayans are indeed wrong about the world ending in 2012 (that’s a joke, son) then you can try again in 2016. You have plenty of time to prepare a message that convicts and provides hope to those who need to hear it.

God Bless.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

