Skip to content

Passage of the Week – August 16, 2009

August 16, 2009

“I am the LORD; I have called you in righteousness; I will take you by the hand and keep you; I will give you as a covenant for the people, a light for the nations, to open the eyes that are blind, to bring out the prisoners from the dungeon, from the prison those who sit in darkness. I am the LORD; that is my name; my glory I give to no other, nor my praise to carved idols. Behold, the former things have come to pass, and new things I now declare; before they spring forth I tell you of them.”

(Isaiah 42:6-9 ESV)

And he came in the Spirit into the temple, and when the parents brought in the child Jesus, to do for him according to the custom of the Law, he took him up in his arms and blessed God and said, “Lord, now you are letting your servant depart in peace, according to your word; for my eyes have seen your salvation that you have prepared in the presence of all peoples, a light for revelation to the Gentiles, and for glory to your people Israel.”

(Luke 2:27-32 ESV)

Prophesies of Christ directly fulfilled in the New Testament are many. So many that sometimes I think we do not appreciate them for what they were and are. Isaiah penned these words over seven centuries before the scene in the temple with the infant Christ. The baby had done nothing up to this point which would have indicated that he was the Christ. Yet Simeon knew and echoed Isaiah’s prophecy of the fulfillment of the Gentiles into the faith.

Another part of Isaiah’s teaching here in on the application of God’s glory. The sin of idolatry plagued Israel through most all of the Old Testament. It plagues us today. Anytime we esteem something higher than the Lord we are committing idolatry. It remains one of the most often committed sins of our age or any age. God is the sovereign Lord of the universe. He created all there is and He has ultimate authority over all of it. He does not have to share His glory with anything. May we never forget that God’s glory is the reason of our existence and our salvation.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

