Skip to content

The Beginning

June 10, 2009

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places. (Eph. 6:10-12 ESV)

Welcome to the beginning of what I hope to be a long term project. I have been contemplating this project for some time. There are so many good bloggers out there who are doing great work at edifying the body of believers. A look at the links provided on this page is but a sample of some of the available resources by men of much more experience and knowledge than I. They have laid a solid groundwork which is continuing to be built on by people such as myself with more bricks being added every day.

So why would I wish to enter into this environment known as the “blogosphere?” What more can I expect to offer which is not already easily available? The truth is I don’t know. What I do know is that God is glorified every time His name is proclaimed and that is what I seek to do. It is not my intention to spend this time and space in talking primarily about myself or blathering on about the latest movie or music. Rather, I wish to dedicate this to the proclamation of the truth of God as revealed in Christ our Lord.

For reference I am a Bible-believing Baptist Christian of the Reformed persuasion. This means that I hold to the doctrines of grace outlined in the five Solas of the Reformation:

  • Sola Scriptura – by Scripture alone
  • Sola Fide – by Faith alone
  • Sola Gratia – by Grace alone
  • Solus Christus – Christ alone
  • Soli Deo Gloria – Glory to God alone

This also means that I am a Calvinist and hold to the doctrine of Salvation (Soteriology) represented by the acrostic TULIP. More on this in future posts. My goals for this blog are relatively simple:

  1. Edify, Encourage, and Exhort the Body of Christ
  2. Address issues critical to the Church today
  3. Proclaim the Gospel

I hope you will enjoy this blog and share it with others you know. Thank you for your attention.

In Christ,

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

